What Home Sweet Home Looks Like To Me

A house is made of walls and beams; a home is made of love and dreams. –Anonymous

I still remember my earliest dream. I lived in a castle and a winged unicorn flew to my window and carried me away into the clouds. I explored the world in safety on the back of my alicorn. The colors and details were so vivid that when I woke up, I wrote them all down. It became the first book I published. I was seven.

It’s been a while, but I never did get the castle window or the alicorn of my dreams. I think it is safe to say my life is better off without it anyway. But what about the more realistic dreams I’ve had that would make life better?

We all have that list. You know the one. It’s the one that tells you to get a better job, lose weight, buy a house already and stop paying rent, land a ring from that man before you’re forty, have some kids before your ovaries turn into raisins, etc. That list. It is a never-ending fault finder, yet we judge our lives by what it says.

Over sixty years ago, two kids who knew very little about lists fell in love. They were both working class farm kids from the plains of the Midwest. The young man saw the young pretty girl at a church social, but he soon discovered she lived far away from him. That didn’t stop him from pursuing her. Determined to win her, he wore out seven cars driving to see her before they finally were wed.

Three kids, seven grandkids, and sixty years later, there were hundreds of photos proving they lived happily ever after. As one of the seven, I was there to witness and take a lot of them. Yet my favorite is the one taken at the beginning of it all.

They are just home from their honeymoon and standing beside the row of trees they planted on their homestead. Their arms are wrapped around each other and their faces are spread widely with smiles. He stands tall with a puffed out chest, proud of the woman on his arm. She snuggles up tight to him and laughs, her face hidden in the shadow of his. The caption written in her handwriting says, “I caught my man.”

We should all be so deliriously happy.

They jumped into life together without counting costs or making lists. They had each other and Jesus. They were fearless.

Fearless doesn’t mean they didn’t see hard times. It doesn’t even mean they lived blissfully without fighting. But when they fought, when times got tough, they talked it out and prayed it out. The hard times strengthened them.

Their homestead wasn’t fancy, but it was the home of my dreams.

It was a home full of love, encouragement, and creativity. It was a home with too much activity for binge watching tv. It was a home where strangers felt welcome and family piled in to stay. Food stretched farther through generosity, and blankets made comfortable pallets on the floor.

It was a home that believed in the power of prayer. When fear crept in or tried to attack the family, it ignited their warrior prayer. Days and nights were filled with reading and talking about scripture; it wasn’t just words on a page to them.

If this is the dream, how do I get there?

If I want the deliriously happy home I remember, I have to start with myself.

I have to start being the change I seek.

If I want a home that is focused on the power of prayer, I need to pray more now. If I want to live generously, I need to give generously now. If I want to be more creative and less hooked to devices, I need to unplug more now. Eventually, I will find myself in the home of my dreams.

What can you start doing today to further your goals and your dreams?

16 thoughts on “What Home Sweet Home Looks Like To Me

  1. I love this so much! Did your granddaddy really wear out 7 cars seeing your grandma? Your family has always taken me in as one of their own and made me feel loved during holidays when I was far from family. And they’re darn good cooks! Last Thanksgiving was so special when we sang hymns with your dad while your grandma played the piano. πŸ™‚

    Like

    • Yes he did…but this is about my maternal grandparents. My paternal grandparents that you met are different. Their story is pretty awesome too, but it doesn’t involve all the cars, etc. I owe them a story too.

      Liked by 1 person

      • I thought that was your granddaddy I met in the picture. He looks like him. πŸ˜€ I loved the story; sorry I got mixed up. That detail about the cars is amazing and proves the love he had for her. And her comment on the picture. πŸ™‚ Loved this
        post.

        Like

  2. Very well said. So often we say one day I’ll… Well, what’s wrong with today. If we start today, we will have the hopes and dreams we want sooner rather than later. No need to keep putting them off. Take a step in the directly even if it is a small step. It’s still one step closer to getting there. Thank you for the reminder.

    Liked by 1 person

Comments are closed.